An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

HomeNewsroomNewsArticle Display

Article - Article View

Air Force Space Command team takes first place at Air Force Marathon MAJCOM Challenge


WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio - The Air Force Space Command MAJCOM Challenge team poses for a photo at the Air Force Marathon at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Sept. 15, 2018. (From left) Maj. Joel Fenlason, Senior Master Sgt. David Argabright, 1st Lt. Veronica Leddy, 2nd Lt. Nathan Isaacs, Master Sgt. Tiffany Lambert, Capt. Marcus Williams Jr., Maj. Anna Fedotova, and Maj. Jason Brosseau. Not pictured: 1st Lt. Nicholas Ruiz and Capt. Andrew Layman. The AFSPC team won first place at the event, competing against 12 other military MAJCOM teams.

PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. -- A team comprised of 10 runners from across Air Force Space Command won the Air Force Marathon's annual Major Command Challenge. The 22nd Air Force marathon was held at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Sept. 15 and the winners of the MAJCOM Challenge were announced via Facebook Sept. 27.

The MAJCOM Challenge is a friendly competition open to all active duty, reserve, and Air National Guard personnel. Each MAJCOM team was made up of four full marathoners (three men and one woman) and six half marathoners (four men and two women).

AFSPC team members included:Maj. Jason Brosseau, Headquarters AFSPC Capt. Marcus Williams Jr., 4th Space Control Squadron, 2nd Lt. Nathan Isaacs, 20th SPCS, Master Sgt. Tiffany Lambert, 561st Network Operations Squadron, Maj. Anna Fedotova, 61st Medical Squadron, Maj. Joel Fenlason, 14th Air Force, Capt. Andrew Layman, 21st Space Wing, 1st Lt. Nicholas Ruiz, 50th Mission Support Group, 1st Lt. Veronica Leddy, 50th Civil Engineering Squadron , and Senior Master Sgt. David Argabright, 83rd NOS.

"There was a lot of pressure going into this race since the Air National Guard's team was two-time reigning champions and we knew they were going to be hard to beat," said Brosseau, the ninth overall finisher for the full marathon. "I couldn't be more excited and proud that our AFSPC team came together in the end and took home first place

A total of 12 military teams competed in the MAJCOM Challenge. The AFSPC team won with a combined time of 22 hours, 43 minutes and 10 seconds, beating the two-time reigning champions, the Air National Guard team, by more than 56 minutes.

AFSPC also improved from their third place finish last year

"The MAJCOM Challenge was a great opportunity to build relationships with Airmen around the MAJCOM and find people that share your passion," said Williams, the 11th overall finisher for the full marathon. "We were able to synchronize and improve our own training and help us achieve our personal goals through this team."

For more information about next year's MAJCOM Challenge and how to apply, visit the Air Force Marathon's official website:

Peterson SFB Schriever SFBCheyenne Mountain SFSThule AB New Boston SFS Kaena Point SFS Maui