An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

HomeNewsroomNewsArticle Display

Article - Article View

39th APS hails new commander


PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. – Col. Richard Saunders, 302nd Mission Support Group commander, passes the 39th Aerial Support Squadron guidon to Maj. Emily Barry, the 39th APS commander, during the 39th APS Change of Command ceremony, May 5, 2018, at Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado. Barry took command of the squadron, Sept. 1, 2017, that provides Aerial Port operations including cargo, ramp and passenger services and airdrop support. (U.S. Air Force photo by Staff Sgt. Tiffany Lundberg)

PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. – -- The 39th Aerial Port Squadron held their change of command ceremony signifying Maj. Royce Johnson relinquishing command of the 39th APS to Maj. Emily Barry, May 5, here.

Barry has been the 39th APS commander since Sept. 1, 2017 and is responsible for aerial port operations including cargo, ramp and passenger services, and airdrop support. Prior to taking command, she was the 39th APS operations officer from July 2016 through September 2017.

“To the men and women of the 39th Aerial Port Squadron, it’s been an honor to fill this position for the past few months,” said Barry. “Through your hard work, dedication and selfless service we’ve certainly made a name for ourselves. Let’s keep this momentum going to bigger and better things to be the most innovative group in the Air Force.”

The 39th APS provides mission-ready aerial port personnel and equipment to effectively meet integrated joint and operational requirements with short notice in times of war and maintains proficiency in times of peace.

The 39th APS recently won two Headquarters Air Force Reserve Command awards; Air Reserve Component Air Transportation Activity of the Year for 2017 and Logistics Readiness and Maintenance Awards Program National Defense Transportation Association Unit Award.

Peterson SFB Schriever SFBCheyenne Mountain SFSThule AB New Boston SFS Kaena Point SFS Maui