An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

HomeNewsroomNewsArticle Display

Article - Article View

2018 Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest announced

PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. -- The Lance P. Sijan Chapter of the Air Force Association announced the 2018 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest May 15.

The annual contest is used to stimulate thought, discussion and debate on matters relating to how the Air Force and Air Force Space Command provide space and cyberspace capabilities for the joint force and the nation. The contest began in 2014 making this its fifth iteration.

This year’s theme reflects on the Air Force’s focus on great power competition:

Resurgent and revisionist powers have brought a return to great power competition. These same powers recognize the combat advantage the U.S. military gains from its space capabilities and are developing doctrine and systems to deny and degrade our advantage in a future conflict. What mix of strategies, policies and systems are required to strengthen U.S. deterrence in space to dissuade adversaries from extending conflict to this domain?

There are two divisions in the contest, an Open Division and an Airman Division. The Open Division is for all current Air Force military and civilian personnel, to include Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard members. The Airman Division is exclusively for Airman Basic through Technical Sergeant ranks, though they are allowed to compete in the Open Division as well.

The top two essays in the Open Division will be published in the Air and Space Power Journal. In addition to publication, the winner of the Open Division will receive a plaque and a check for $1,000. The runner-up will also receive a plaque recognizing this achievement and a check for $500.

In the Airman Division, the first place winner will receive a plaque and a check for $500, with the runner-up receiving a plaque and check for $250.

Essays under the Open Division are limited to 3,500 words, and essays in the Airman Division have a limit of 1,500 words. Both divisions are limited to two authors maximum. Entries will be judged on quality of written expression, quality of argumentation and degree of currency and relevancy.

The deadline for submission is September 14, 2018, with winners being announced in late October/early November.

Those interested in participating in the contest may send their inquiries about rules, formatting requirements and submissions to

Winners from the 2017 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest, which had a theme on what the nation should do better to prepare to deter aggressive actions in space and cyberspace, were:

Winner Open Division – Capt. Mikael Nayak, AFRL/RD; “Deterring Aggressive Space Actions with Cube-Satellite Proximity Operations: A New Frontier in Defensive Space Control”

Runner-up Open Division – Lt. Col. Mark Reith, Air Force Information Technology instructor; “Brandishing our Air, Space and Cyber Swords: Recommendations for Deterrence and Beyond”

Winner Airman/NCO Division – Tech Sgt. Amin Haqani, 436th Airlift Wing; “Leadership to Foster Innovation against Cyberspace Threats”

Runner-up Airman/NCO Division – Tech Sgt. Juan Ramirez, 1st Airlift Squadron; “Space and Cyberspace Recruitment”

Peterson SFB Schriever SFBCheyenne Mountain SFSThule AB New Boston SFS Kaena Point SFS Maui