An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

HomeNewsroomNewsArticle Display

Article - Article View

USSTRATCOM Commander Announces 2016 Omaha Trophy Winners

OFFUTT AIR FORCE BASE, Neb. -- In recognition of outstanding support to U.S. Strategic Command’s (USSTRATCOM) strategic deterrence, space and cyberspace missions, U.S. Air Force Gen. John E. Hyten, commander of USSTRATCOM, announced the winners of the 2016 Omaha Trophies at the command’s headquarters Feb. 16, 2017.


“These awards are a direct reflection of the hard work and tireless effort demonstrated by the men and women, in and out of uniform, who support the command,” Hyten said. “USSTRATCOM is a powerful, dominant warfighting command whose ultimate strength is its people, joint and allied warfighters – officers, enlisted and civilians.”


Hyten added that the winning organizations “distinguished themselves as the top performers in a field of extraordinary competition.”


He also lauded the efforts and achievements of the other nominated units for their dedication to providing a safe, secure, effective and ready deterrent force.


“Every one of these nominees is a winner and an outstanding representative of their task force, joint task force, or functional component,” Hyten said. “This command’s leadership staff and I are extremely proud of each and every one of them for their contributions towards preserving peace.”


The Omaha Trophy, dating back to the U.S. Air Force’s Strategic Air Command, was originally created by the Strategic Command Consultation (SCC) Committee – an advisory group comprised of business leaders in the Omaha area – in 1971. At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command’s best wing.


Since then, the tradition has evolved to unit-level awards that recognize USSTRATCOM’s premier intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic bomber wing and global operations (space/cyberspace) unit. Last year, a new category was added to include the combatant command’s top strategic aircraft wing.


Those receiving awards represent organizations throughout USSTRATCOM that are critical to fulfilling the combatant command's vision of fighting and delivering integrated multi-domain combat effects across the globe, wherever and whenever needed.


“On behalf of the great people of Omaha and the surrounding area, we are proud to recognize the 2016 Omaha Trophy winners,” said Ken Stinson, chairman of the SCC. “Congratulations and thank you for your hard work and the many sacrifices you and your families make in service to this great nation.”


The 2016 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations are listed by category below:

- ICBM: 90th Missile Wing, F.E. Warren Air Force Base, Wyoming

- Ballistic Missile Submarine: USS Alaska (SSBN 732), Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia

- Strategic Bomber: 5th Bomb Wing, Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota

- Strategic Aircraft: 92nd Air Refueling Wing, Fairchild Air Force Base, Washington

- Global Operations: 21st Space Wing, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado


One of nine DoD unified combatant commands, USSTRATCOM has global strategic missions assigned through the Unified Command Plan that include strategic deterrence; space operations; cyberspace operations; joint electronic warfare; global strike; missile defense; intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance; and analysis and targeting.

Peterson SFB Schriever SFBCheyenne Mountain SFSThule AB New Boston SFS Kaena Point SFS Maui